Protection

“I’m sorry; It’s over.” he said while hanging up the phone.

Earlier this month, it was getting worst between the two of them, and hard to be together.
They were trying to hold on to each other, but sometimes, holding on hurts more than letting go.

He was a famous political man, and she was his assistant. If one didn’t know her better, they’d say she was sleeping with her boss for the sake of her job.
But it’s not like that. They met and they fell for each other, like any 2 normal people, but they were everything but normal.
Other than him being famous, he was still married and getting a divorce.. But Her? she was just a woman, a young woman who studied hard and worked harder to get to be where she is now.

Somehow, they managed to last 8 months now.Eventually, their relationship hit rock bottom; Thus, All she does is cry, and all he does is hurt her. Not because he wants to, or because he means to, but because the situation they were put in obliged him to hurt her, and she didn’t say a thing.

They both thought it would work out at some point, and they were both wrong.
Before ending things, they took a break, like they always do. They experience distance just to remind themselves how much they need and love one another.

However, this time…. this time was different for him.
” I can’t hurt her anymore. We can’t enjoy a normal relationship, it seems impossible! I love her, God knows I do. And I won’t say that i gave her everything because i didn’t. I couldn’t. I can’t make things between us official because I’m still married, we can’t go out and we can’t express our love because the media will destroy both her reputation and mine. I travel and work 18/24, and i can’t give her my time, nor my utmost attention. And she deserves time, attention, love, respect… she deserves happiness. I can’t  make her happy. She deserves the moon and the sun and every planet in between.
I can’t hurt her anymore. Letting her go, that’s all I can do for her; To protect her from not only me, but herself.”

quoteedeef

We all thought she’d end it first, but her love and tenderness grew stronger than their obstacles, and for that matter, he just called her and told her.

Who knows… 5 years from now, they might meet again, they might love again, with no hurt, no pain , no waiting….Just love.

10 thoughts on “Protection

  1. You provided in this story an execusite imagination. I would say that you are a real writer with a potential of exploring not only simple/short stories but complex and unique ones.
    I would love to always read what you write on daily basis…you have your grandpa’ s brain especially learning other languages.
    Love you
    Uncle joseph

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is one of the best things I’ve EVER heard in all my life !
      Im grateful and blessed to have you around, and I’m even more LUCKY to call you “Uncle”❤
      Love you so khalo!

      Like

Leave a Reply

